Early Childhood Education


What is the Hardin County Schools' Preschool Program?

The Hardin County Schools' Preschool Program is a State funded program designed to help preschool children who are at risk of beginning school behind their classmates.  The program is for four-year-old children who are economically disadvantaged or for three- and four-year-old children who have identified disabilities or speech delays.

What services do the Hardin County Schools' Preschool Program offer?

The Hardin County Schools' Preschool Program offers the following components:

  • Preschool services for eligible children at no cost to the parent
  • Activities that develop creativity and thinking skills through play
  • Partnerships with the parents through parent education
  • Cooperation among programs and with other agencies to provide services
  • Developmental, as well as hearing and vision screenings


The mission of the Hardin County Schools' Preschool Program, a fully integrated, comprehensive program, is to enrich the lives of children and their families by supporting the child's development in the areas of physical, social, emotional and intellectual and by moving the child and family toward self-sufficiency and social competence.


Per Kentucky law, all children must be enrolled in and attend school between the ages of 6 and 18. Children can enter primary school at age 5, but only if their 5th birthday is on or before October 1 of the current school year. 

Beginning with the 2017-18 school year,the entrydate changes from October 1 to August 1. A child who is 5 years old or who turns 5 by August 1st mayattend school. A child who is 6 years old or who turns 6 by August 1,must attend school.

Preschool programs are available for eligible 3- and 4-year-old children as well.


Carlena Sheeran,  Early Childhood Director
Kathy Lee,  Exceptional Child Consultant 
Elizabeth Lancaster,  Exceptional Child Consultant
Lori Pfeiffer, Exceptional Child Consultant
Laura Hess, Early Childhood Speech Pathologist
Judy Carter,  Early Childhood Secretary
Jill Monday, Early Childhood Office Assistant
Toni Jones, Head Start Family Service Worker
Katharine Reynolds, School Psychologist